The curriculum consists of three divisions.  The Division of Biblical Studies includes Old Testament, New Testament, and Theology courses. The Division of General Studies includes Communication, Language, History & Political Science, Philosophy, Physical Science, Social Science, Computer Science, and Physical Education courses.  The Division of Professional Studies includes Christian Counseling, Christian Education, Christian Ministries, Cross-Cultural Ministry, Preaching Ministry, Worship Ministry, and Youth & Family Ministry courses.

Course Formats

The number of hours for which the course meets signifies the number of 55 minute sessions the course meets each week.  Three-hour courses may meet for one 180 minute session, two 80 minute sessions, three 55 minute sessions, or four 40 minute sessions.  Course formats other than weekly are described in the Academic Policies section under Alternative Educational Formats. 

The Numbering System

The course numbering system will indicate the division & subdivision of each course and the level of the course. The three letters indicate the division and the area the course occupies in the curriculum. Courses numbered in the 100s are designed primarily for freshmen; those numbered in the 200s are designed for sophomores or above; those numbered in the 300s are designed for upperclassmen.  The semesters in which the course is normally scheduled are indicated at the conclusion of the course description.

Online Courses

Online courses taught by Central teachers are equivalent to the onsite courses and have the same course description.  Online versions of Central courses are scheduled as needed to support programs and students.

The College offers a few courses through the Consortium for Christian Online Education (  Courses available through the CCOE are labeled DL and available every semester.  Instead of having a prerequisite, the course equivalent is noted.